Skip to content
Foodiepaws — Dog Chews & Treats
Sign In CART

83% Protein on a Lamb Collagen Chew: Reading the Guaranteed Minimum

by Foodiepaws 7 min read
Overhead view of a black-and-white dog eating its regular meal from a steel bowl.

The 83% crude protein figure on a Foodiepaws lamb collagen label is a guaranteed minimum. The chew is one layer of lamb skin, braided and dried. It is a treat rather than a complete meal, and its calories still count in your dog's daily diet.

Every collagen chew page in the aisle leads with the protein number and stops there. None of them says what collagen protein is made of, which is the part that decides whether the number touches a diet you already got right. This page gives that composition, then says what it settles and what it does not.

Why a single-ingredient lamb chew posts a number that high

Nothing was added to dilute it. Crude protein on a chew label is a guaranteed minimum, and the stick behind it is one tissue: the corium, the collagen layer of lamb skin. It is braided, slow oven-dried, and never coated or treated. Moisture is capped at 13%. Take the water out of one tissue and most of what remains is the protein itself.

That figure sits on one tissue, and the layer it is cut from is described in full elsewhere. The badge sits above the title on our 6-inch lamb collagen sticks, with the guaranteed analysis it comes from further down the same page.

Which fields a bag has to print, and which it may leave off, has its own page on what a chew label has to carry. This page does not re-run it. The number is the subject here, not the panel it sits in.

What collagen protein is built from

Collagen is not a generic protein with a high score. It has a specific ratio, and it is well measured in the human nutrition literature. A narrative review of collagen protein puts glycine at about a third of it — roughly 33% — with proline near 10% and hydroxyproline at 13.5%.

There is a reason for the ratio. Glycine sits in every third position along the chain, which is what lets three strands pack tightly enough to hold, and the repeating unit is written Gly-Pro-X. The protein had a shape and a job long before it had a percentage.

What collagen protein is built from Share of the protein What it is doing there
Glycine About 33% Every third position in the chain
Proline About 10% Named in the repeating Gly-Pro-X unit
Hydroxyproline 13.5% The marker almost nothing else carries
Tryptophan None Absent from every collagen type

The table describes collagen, not our stick. We publish no amino acid assay for a Foodiepaws lamb collagen chew, and these figures come out of the human nutrition literature. Read them as a description of the material the braid is made of. The last row is the one that gets misread — the next two sections are about it.

Structure protein and food protein are not the same job

Collagen is what holds tissue together. It is the principal material of the layer the chew is cut from, and its job in a living sheep is tension. Skin that does not tear, tendon that does not stretch. A protein built to be a cable is not the same object in a nutrition column as a protein built to be eaten. Same word, different work.

A collagen chew supplies dietary protein in a chew format. Our joint-support guide explains that role alongside the measured preparations and doses used in canine research.

The percentage is a guaranteed minimum for crude protein. It does not state the exact protein content of an individual stick, describe a complete amino acid profile, or make the chew a complete and balanced diet.

The amino acid that is not in there, and what that settles

The gap is scoring, not safety. The same review is blunt about that end of the profile: every collagen type contains no tryptophan. Nutrition researchers who put the number at one — one indispensable amino acid short — went on to model how much collagen a human diet can carry anyway. They landed at up to 36% of dietary protein in people, with indispensable amino acid requirements still met.

That figure is human dietary modelling and it stays there: not a dog guideline, not a chew allowance. What it settles is the shape of the objection. Being one indispensable amino acid short makes collagen an incomplete protein source on paper — a scoring problem for a food that must carry an entire diet. A chew has never been asked to carry one.

A collagen chew does not replace a complete and balanced meal. It still adds food and calories when offered between meals, so it belongs in the daily treat budget.

83 and 75: two panels, two tissues

Both numbers are minimums. The collagen braid posts 83% crude protein and the tripe stick posts 75%, and the gap between them is not a quality ranking. It tracks what each tissue is. The corium is a collagen sheet; green tripe is stomach lining dried whole. Two tissues, two panels.

The lamb tripe range posts a 9% fat minimum where the braid posts 3%. Beyond the two panels, no composition figure has been published for either lamb tissue, ours included. Neither figure decides which chew you hand over. A dog that ignores everything else takes to the flavor, and that flavor is the reason tripe wins a picky eater.

The higher protein minimum is not a quality ranking. Both lengths in the lamb collagen range guarantee at least 83% crude protein and 3% crude fat. Their calorie declarations are listed separately by size; sharing those guaranteed minimums does not mean every figure on the two labels is identical.

What the protein number does not decide

Four things the percentage does not settle. It is not an allergen statement: a percentage says nothing about which protein a dog reacts to, and the animal decides that, not the column. If that is the question you actually came with, the aisle sorted by animal is the page for it.

The protein percentage does not measure a health outcome. The 83% figure is a guaranteed protein minimum. Our joint-support wording describes collagen's dietary role separately; the percentage is not a clinical result, a digestibility percentage or a chew-time guarantee.

None of that is a mark against the number. It is a boundary around what a composition figure can do — describe a material, then stop. Ask it what your dog will do with the stick and it has nothing to say.

Where the chew sits in a diet you already balanced

The chew was filed with the treats. WSAVA's definition of a treat names chews on a list of four, alongside snacks, supplements, and foods used to administer medication. Chews belong in the treat calorie budget along with the other foods on that list. Our own feeding steps say the same thing in plainer words: for intermittent or supplemental feeding only, not a complete diet, per AAFCO guidelines.

How much room a treat gets in a day is worked through on the treat ceiling, and this page does not re-derive it. The short version is that the budget is made of calories, not of protein. Whether cutting the bowl on a chew day is warranted depends on calories too. The bowl stays the bowl.

Read the protein figure as a guaranteed minimum, then count the chew's calories within the day. Whether the main food needs adjusting depends on the dog's total calorie allowance, not on the size of the protein percentage.

Lamb collagen protein FAQ

What does 83% protein on a dog chew mean?

It is the guaranteed minimum for crude protein on the Foodiepaws lamb collagen label. The stick is a single layer of lamb skin, braided and dried, with moisture capped at 13%. The percentage does not state the exact protein content of an individual stick or make it a complete diet. Count the chew as food within the daily treat calorie budget.

Does a high-protein chew change my dog's diet?

It adds food and calories to the day, even though it is a treat rather than a meal. The WSAVA treat handout lists chews alongside snacks, supplements and foods used to give medication. Foodiepaws chews are for intermittent or supplemental feeding only, not a complete diet. Count the portion eaten within the daily treat budget.

Which amino acids is collagen highest in?

Glycine, by a distance. Collagen protein runs about 33% glycine, roughly 10% proline and 13.5% hydroxyproline. Glycine sits in every third position along the chain, which is what lets three strands pack tightly into a coil. Hydroxyproline is close to a fingerprint, since very little else carries it. That composition describes collagen itself, which is what a lamb collagen braid is made of.

Read the protein minimum for what it guarantees, choose the chew for your dog, and count its calories as a treat. Then take the stub away.

Not sure which chew fits your dog? 60 seconds, 4 questions — get a match with real reasons.
Find My Chew →

← All guides